Sobriety Matters

Some of you that know me, know that sobriety is important to me. For those of you who don’t know me, June 24,2017 will be my 6 year anniversary of sobriety.

I had a long hard road to get to the point where I said I’m going to be sober for the rest of my life. Leading up to that point almost 6 years ago, I lived a life of self destruction in many ways. You name it, I tried it, while hurting others and myself in the process.

Why bother sharing my story? Well, I have come across many of our people who are in some stage of recovery or another and we all come to the same conclusion that it would have been amazing in the beginning of our path to have been able to get some support. Of course there is AA and NA, which I will add I went to and found that the majority of people there were only there because of a court order, not because they seriously wanted to be sober and stay that way.

As an introvert, I found it easier to “fit in” when I was “partying like a rock star” though really , I was causing chaos every time I partied. When I look back at things I wish I could change in my adult life’s past, every one of the events I’d like to erase involve some form of alcohol or drug.

To get sober completely, I had to literally burn all bridges and move out of state. I also don’t go to gatherings where there will be alcoholic beverages or drug users. There are some people who think I’m “ridiculous” because I won’t go somewhere where there is beer, well.. I know myself and I don’t think I’m at the point where I can be comfortable being the only sober person at the party, so why put myself in that situation? I think it’s ridiculous that as adults there are still people who try to peer pressure others to be users. It’s as if supporting someone who wants to better themselves is the most terrible thing in the world.

Our people are dying everyday of drug overdoses or some drug related death. We really need to support our people who need help coming through the process of recovery. Instead of writing our addicted people off as compost, reach out and help them. I know you can’t force someone to get sober but at least try to give them the tools they need once they agree to sobering up.

I don’t have all the answers to how we can help our addicted people but I know how they feel and I know how hard the struggle to stay on the road of sobriety can be. I’m blessed to have had several people who refused to give up on me when all I wanted to do was give up on myself. Be the one person who doesn’t give up, we all have a purpose.

If you have kids, please set a sober example. Our kids are watching always and we can’t undo the mess we create when allowing our kids to watch us self destruct.

I am proud of my sobriety and I am proud of my brothers and sisters who are on the same path.

Keep moving forward, you got this!

One thought on “Sobriety Matters

Leave a Reply

