Why I Don’t Write About Marriage

I was recently asked why I never write about marriage and the roles of wives and husbands. My response is simple.

I have always heard, “write what you know” , well, I wasn’t raised by people in a loving marriage, in fact my father was married and divorced eight times that I know of. I myself have had more failed relationships than I care to admit. So, therefore, I don’t think I’m qualified to give advice on that subject.

I personally prefer to get my advice on that subject from people who have successfully been married for more than three years. The same goes with any subject, I wouldn’t want to hear someone give advice on sobriety from someone who has never done drugs or been an alcoholic. I wouldn’t want to get recipes from someone who has never turned on a stove. I definitely don’t want parenting advice from someone who has never had children. I don’t want book suggestions from someone who doesn’t read books.You get my point.

I will share other people’s articles or books on the topic I think is relevant but I’m just not going to pretend to be an expert on that matter.

So there you go, now you know.

Leave a Reply

