A broody hen? I hope so!

 

We have backyard chickens. We started out last year with six  chicks, and of those six original chicks we only have two left, thanks to some possums. We replaced the murdered hens with some two year old hens from a local man, and a rooster. So, now we have five hens and a rooster.

For the last two days one of the hens has been brooding on two eggs… It’s my hope that she continues and hatches those eggs so I can have some baby chicks! I have never seen that process in person and I think it would be cool to watch, provided she does not kill them when they hatch. I really hope they hatch and they thrive.

According to this http://www.the-chicken-chick.com/2013/08/caring-for-broody-hens-facilitating-egg.html it could go all kinds of ways, but I’m going to stay positive because I want some baby chicks!

I’ll keep you posted on how this plays out. 😁

Leave a Reply

