Do you believe?

According to this> https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/belief

Belief means:

  1.  ”  a state or habit of mind in which trust or confidence is placed in some person or thing <her belief in God> <a belief in democracy> <I bought the table in the belief that it was an antique.> <contrary to popular belief>

  2. 2:  something that is accepted, considered to be true, or held as an opinion :  something believed <an individual’s religious or political beliefs>; especially :  a tenet or body of tenets held by a group <the beliefs of the Catholic Church>

  3. 3:  conviction of the truth of some statement or the reality of some being or phenomenon especially when based on examination of evidence <belief in the validity of scientific statements> “

 

Now, when my  kids asked me what “Belief” meant , I’d tell them that you know you believe in something if you would die for what you know as truth or right. I know, it’s a dramatic answer, but hey, it’s my belief.

I have been told countless times that in this age of information overload, it’s virtually impossible to figure out what is true or false. My response to that is, what FEELS true? Yes, I know, we need facts to prove everything, but after you’ve done research and pondered and searched everywhere, when you find the truth, you know it because it “clicks”, you feel the belief manifest. There are people who believe the Earth is flat and would die for that belief. There are people who would die for their belief that white people are just a science experiment gone wrong. There are people who would even probably die for their belief that peanut butter is an invention. Everyone seems to have their own belief about what is true and what is false. Regardless of whether I share their belief or not, I have always had respect for people who are so passionate about their beliefs that they don’t back down, they don’t change their belief because it’s unpopular, they don’t apologize.

I know many people in this movement of ours who have been cut off from family, jobs, even their children won’t communicate with them. Why? Because they stand by their beliefs. I myself have lost communication with relatives, people I thought were friends, etc. Trying to find a job outside the home is a task because once they find out who I am, no one wants anything to do with me. Speaking of which, I started the blanket outreach type charity because my assistance was turned down twice in less than a month by mainstream organizations who found out who I am and didn’t want to associate with me. Now, am I depressed or angry because most of society wants nothing to do with me? No. Because that means that no one is wondering what I believe. I have two sons who choose to live states away from me. Does that make me suicidal? No. It lets me know that my sons know what I believe. They still keep in touch with me so that is a positive to me.

We have people in this movement who flip flop, they say they are passionate about their beliefs, yet when the going gets tough, they get going. I have met people in several different religious organizations across the movement and instead of being inspiring, they are depressing. My belief is that leaders should be inspiring because THEY are inspired by their beliefs. How on earth is anyone going to die for a belief that the leaders aren’t even inspired by? If you don’t want to be a follower, then by all means, give the people who are looking for a leader, a belief that you yourself are actually passionate about and yes, would die for. If you’re not willing to take your beliefs to the grave, then I’d say it’s time to ask yourself what you truly believe.

We have many eyes on us, particularly the next generation and if you truly, to the death, believe in those 14 words.. live that belief, inspire that belief, fight for that belief, make sure people know what you believe. No one can keep you from taking your beliefs to the grave, soul search and then be steadfast in your beliefs always.

Leave a Reply

